Sports

Asia Cup 2018: Can’t talk about few things because I don’t want to get fined, says MS Dhoni

Asia Cup 2018: Can’t talk about few things because I don’t want to get fined, says MS Dhoni

Former Indian Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni who wore the cap of Captain again on Tuesday for the Match against Afghanistan in Asia Cup Super-Four encounter, indirectly dissed the umpire for taking incorrect decisions during the match.
India chased 253 runs to win the match, but was bowled out in 252 runs, as Rashid Khan took Ravindra Jadeja wicked in the final over, which was so close. The Match ended in a tie.
After the match, MS Dhoni talked to the media present in the venue saying that, “We got off to a very good start with the bat, but the wicket slowed down over the course of the game, so someone should have continued with the bat. Shot-selection is something that we need to work on,” the wicketkeeper-batsman said.
Dhoni further stressed that he would not like to speak on some points as he does not want to get fined. “There were a couple of run-outs, and a few things we can’t talk about because I don’t want to get fined for it. It’s good that it’s a tie, but they played really well,” he said.
Here is how some of the important Indian players lost wicked to Afaghistan
•    MS Dhoni (LBW)
Dhoni, who was captaining India for the 200th time in an ODI, was adjudged LBW for 8 on a delivery Javed Ahmadi. Dhoni stepped out of the crease with long strides, which gave the impression that the ball might have spun down leg. But the umpires raised his fingers. With India left without a review, Dhoni had to walk back. The replays confirmed that it was indeed missing leg stumps by quite some distance.

•    RAVINDRA JADEJA (MISSING SIX)

Another controversial moment came in the final over when Ravindra Jadeja lofted a delivery from Rashid Khan for a boundary. After multiple replays, it was given a four, but the fans remained convinced that the allrounder should have been awarded a six.

•    DINESH KARTHIK (LBW)
It was not the only wrong decision given by the umpire. Dinesh Karthik, who was well set for 44 in the middle, was also given out LBW by the umpire in Mohammad Nabi’s over. The ball clearly looked missing the leg stump and the replays confirmed the same. Karthik looked displeased at the decision but had to walk back.

Despite a Tie in Match against India, Afaghistan will not play in the Finals as it was the first team to be ousted from Super Four. India will play against the winner of Pakistan vs Bangladesh in Asia Cup Finale on Friday.